Udayavni Special

31 in fray for bypolls to two assembly segments in Karnataka

Team Udayavani, Oct 20, 2020, 11:21 AM IST

Bengaluru: A total of 31 candidates, including those of the ruling BJP, Congress and JDS, are in the fray for the November 3 byelections to two assembly constituencies in Karnataka after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended on Monday, officials said.

As many as 15 candidates are in the field in Sira in Tumakuru district and 16 in Rajarajeshwari Nagar (R R Nagar) in the city, they said. Six candidates — two in Sira and four in R R Nagar — have withdrawn their nominations after papers of 37 were declared valid during scrutiny on Saturday. Results of the bypolls will be declared on November 10.

The byelection has been necessitated in Sira following the death of JD(S) legislator B Sathyanarayana in August, while the R R Nagar seat here has fallen vacant following the disqualification of the then Congress MLA N Munirathna under the anti-defection law last year.

Radiologist Dr C M Rajesh Gowda, son of former Congress MP C P Mudalagiriyappa, who had recently joined the party, is the ruling BJP”s candidate from Sira. While the Congress has fielded former minister Jayachandra, who had represented the seat in the past, as the candidate from Sira, JD(S) with an eye on sympathy votes has fielded Ammajamma, the wife of late Sathyanarayana.

In R R Nagar, the Congress has given ticket to a fresh face — Kusuma H, wife of late IAS officer D K Ravi. She is pitted against V Krishnamurthy of JD(S) and N Munirathna of the BJP. Munirathna, after his disqualification last year, had joined the BJP. A total of 2,15,693 voters — 1,10,265 men and 1,05,418 women — are eligible to cast their franchise in about 330 polling stations in Sira.

In RR Nagar, 4,60,401 eligible voters are expected to cast their votes in 678 polling stations. Among them, 2,40,061 are men and 2,20,261 are women. A total of 2,034 electronic voting machines with voter- verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) systems will be deployed for the bypolls in two constituencies.

Three categories of voters — those aged above 80, persons with disabilities flagged in the electoral roll and COVID-19 suspects or affected persons — will be allowed to cast postal ballot, the office of the state Chief Electoral Officer has said.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Pakistan fails to nab 19 most wanted LeT terrorists even 12 years after 26/11 attack

Speculation rife in Karnataka as CM convenes meeting of cabinet, MPs

Farmers’ protest: Vigil stepped up in Delhi’s bordering areas, vehicles being checked

Khattar hits out at Amarinder, tells him to stop ‘inciting’ innocent farmers

PM Modi to visit Serum Institute of India in Pune on Saturday

Militant attack in J&K, two security personnel killed

WhatsApp OTP scam: What is it and how to stay safe?

Related Articles More

BJP to hold Gram Swaraj conventions across the state from Nov 27

Speculation rife in Karnataka as CM convenes meeting of cabinet, MPs

Police force cannot solve the problem, listen to farmers, says HD Deve Gowda

Tejasvi Surya booked for trespass on Osmania varsity campus

Fight against caste discrimination: K’taka to set-up govt-run salons


Madhavashankara name for Mangalore airport: Shri Sugunendra Tirtha Swamiji

Centuries-old Tuluva ritual of ‘Bhoomipuje Gaddekori’ still performed at Palthadi Village in Puttur

A bike rider dies in a lorry crash : The scene of the accident was captured on CCTV

Moodbidri: Four people drowned in Shambhavi river

1348 new vented dams in K’taka’s coastal districts: J.C. Madhu Swamy

Latest Additions

Chinese Premier Li to Attend SCO Heads of Govt Meeting Hosted by India on November 30

Phone Call Row: RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Shifted from Hospital Director’s Bungalow to Paying Ward

India, Nepal Agree to Advance Ties as Foreign Secretary Meets Nepalese Top Leadership

Former Assam CM Tarun Gogoi Cremated With Full State Honours in Guwahati

UP govt extends ban on strikes in state departments for 6 months

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.