Udayavni Special

BSY allocates portfolios to 7 new ministers, Angara gets Fisheries and port dept

Team Udayavani, Jan 21, 2021, 8:43 AM IST


Bengaluru: A week after expanding his cabinet, Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa on Thursday allocated portfolios to the seven new inductees and also effected a reshufle of the departments of some ministers.
Among the new Ministers, Umesh Katti gets the Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs while S Angara has been given Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport.

Murugesh Nirani will be the Mines and Geology minister and Arvind Limbavali gets Forest Department, according to an official gazette notification issued in this regard with the consent of the Governor.

Among the others, R Shankar gets Municipal Administration and Sericulture portfolio while MTB Nagaraj would be the Excise Minister and C P Yogeshwar in charge of Minor Irrigation department.

In a significant reshuffle, J C Madhuswamy has been divested of Law, Parliamentary Affairs, Legislation and Minor Irrigation portfolios and allocated Medical Education, Kannada and Culture departments.

Madhuswamy was the key minister who used to put up a strong defence of the government in the Assembly

The Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation department has been given to Home Minister Basavaraj Bommai as an additional portfolio.

The Forest Department has been taken back from Anand Singh, who has now been given the Tourism portfolio in addition to Environment and Ecology; while the responsibility of the Medical Education Department has been taken back from Health and Family Welfare Minister K Sudhakar.

C C Patil, who earlier held the Mines and Geology portfolio has now been given charge of Small Scale Industries and Information and Public Relations department also.

Minister Kota Srinivas Poojari has been relieved from the responsibility of Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport Department and will now have Muzrai and Backward Classes Welfare Department.

While Haj and Wakf Department has been taken back from Animal Husbandry Minister Prabhu Chauhan; Labour Minister A Shivaram Hebbar has been divested of the Sugar department.

K Gopalaiah, who has been divested of the Food, Civil Supplies and Consumers Affairs Department, has now been made incharge of Horticulture and Sugar departments and K C Narayana Gowda has been given Youth Empowerment, Sports, Haj and Wakf Departments, while Municipal Administration, Horticulture and Sericulture departments have been taken back from him.

The Chief Minister has kept the Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms (DPAR), Cabinet Affairs, Finance, Bangalore Development, Energy, Intelligence, Planning, Programme Monitoring Statistics, Infrastructure Development and all unallocated portfolios with himself.

According to sources, there is resentment among some Ministers about portfolios allocated to them and are likely to meet the Chief Minister in this regard.

Ending a long wait, Yediyurappa had expanded his 17- month old cabinet on January 13, by inducting seven ministers as he also dropped H Nagesh who was holding the Excise portfolio.

Also, several MLAs had expressed serious reservations about MLCs not elected by the people being made Ministers, lack of representation with most Ministers still from Bengaluru and Belagavi districts, and also on their “seniority or sacrifice” not being considered.

There are now 33 Ministers in the cabinet, whose total strength is 34.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Dy director of K’taka Mines & Geology Department suspended

K’taka COVID-19 update: 677 new cases, 427 discharges, 4 deaths on March 4

Swapna Suresh made allegations against Kerala CM, Speaker in dollar smuggling case: Customs to HC

High petrol, diesel prices burden on consumers; tax cut should be joint call of Centre, states: FM

Owner of SUV with explosives found near Ambani’s house dies by suicide

BJP Kerala chief K Surendran clarifies remark about CM candidate

I-T raids on Taapsee, Anurag Kashyap: FM says they were raided in 2013 as well

Related Articles More

Dy director of K’taka Mines & Geology Department suspended

K’taka COVID-19 update: 677 new cases, 427 discharges, 4 deaths on March 4

Mangaluru: 4 suspended from college for ragging, assaulting principal

Mangaluru: Rear axle of car breaks away in collision

Cong protests demanding revoking suspension of its MLA, disrupts K”taka assembly proceedings


Mangaluru: Jewellery store owner chases, nabs man who fled with gold ring

Mangaluru; Police arrested four students for ragging junior students

Mangaluru: Rear axle of car breaks away in collision

Mangaluru: police arrested three students in connecting with ragging junior students

Udayavani News Bulletin 5-3-21

Latest Additions

Entire fiscal stimulus to be funded by borrowing, revenues; not taking money from people, says FM

Nepal government, Maoist rebels formally sign peace agreement

Dy director of K’taka Mines & Geology Department suspended

K’taka COVID-19 update: 677 new cases, 427 discharges, 4 deaths on March 4

Farmers’ protest internal issue of India, says British govt

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.