Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar dropped from highest category of central contracts

Team Udayavani, Mar 8, 2019, 4:50 AM IST

New Delhi: Senior opener Shikhar Dhawan and pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar were on Thursday dropped from the highest category of central contracts for India players while young wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was rewarded with an entry into the A category.

The BCCI announced the annual contracts late on Thursday night with Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar, who no longer are certainties in all three formats, being dropped from the A+ category where a player gets a retainer of Rs 7 crore.

India skipper Virat Kohli, ODI vice-captain Rohit Sharma and pacer Jasprit Bumrah are the only three players in the A+ category.

Dhawan’s contract being downgraded is not a surprise considering he is no longer a part of the Test set-up and has had an ordinary last three months in the limited overs format.

Pant, on the other hand, has been rewarded for his good show in Test cricket and has jumped directly into the A group after being ignored last year. The A category players get richer by Rs 5 crore.

The southpaw has been rewarded for his hundreds in England and Australia and he is ready to take on the mantle from Mahendra Singh Dhoni once he retires from limited overs.

The other players in the A category are Dhoni, Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar, Mohammad Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Cheteswar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane.

Chinaman Kuldeep, who has become India’s frontline spinner in all three formats, has been promoted to A from the B category. Murali Vijay, who was in the A category until last year, has been dropped altogether after a dismal Test tour of Australia.

Pujara, despite his stupendous show in Australia, remains in the A category as he is only one format player.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya and opener KL Rahul continue to remain in theSPO-CONTRACTS B category where a player fetches Rs 3 crore. The others in the same category are leggie Yuzvendara Chahal and pacer Umesh Yadav.

The C category, where a player receives Rs 1 crore, comprises Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Khaleel Ahmed, Kedar Jadhav and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, who missed the most of the season due to an injury and last played for India in January 2018.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

PM Modi greets Deve Gowda on birthday

Paralysed woman’s eyelid gnawed at by ‘rats’ in Kota hospital

Karnataka braces for more rains this week

Death due to post-plastic surgery complications very rare, first 24-hours critical: Doctors

Maha: Security heightened at Aurangzeb’s tomb after MNS leader says it should be destroyed

CBI arrests S Bhaskararaman, close associate of Karti Chidambaram, in Rs 50 lakh bribery case

Cannes Film Festival opens with Zelenskyy video address

Related Articles More

Mandhana, Harmanpreet, Deepti named captains of Women’s T20 Challenge teams

SRH keep slim playoff hopes alive with three-run win over MI

Grappler Satender Malik gets life ban for assaulting referee during CWG 2022 wrestling trials

Tilak Varma could be an all-format India batter: Sunil Gavaskar

Mixing up deliveries paid off against Punjab, says Shardul


Boulder Collapse near Karinjeshwara Temple

Raghunath Rao Malkapure appointed pro tem chairman of Legislative Council

BJP members road Blocked in Chikkamagalur

NEWS BULLETIN 16-05-2022

Bajarangadal, called protest at Dattapeeta

Latest Additions

Mandhana, Harmanpreet, Deepti named captains of Women’s T20 Challenge teams

PM Modi greets Deve Gowda on birthday

Paralysed woman’s eyelid gnawed at by ‘rats’ in Kota hospital

Disney Plus sets August premiere for ‘She-Hulk’

Karnataka braces for more rains this week

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.