Mandhana named in ICC T20I women’s Team of the Year, no Indian in the men’s side

PTI, Jan 19, 2022, 4:35 PM IST

Dubai: Star India opener Smriti Mandhana was on Wednesday named in the ICC T20 women’s Team of the Year for her superlative show in the format in 2021 but no Indian made the men’s side.

The stylish Southpaw, who is the Indian team’s vice-captain in the format, was the country’s highest scorer in the format in 2021 with 255 runs at an average of 31.87.

The 25-year-old scored two fifties in the nine matches she played and got her team off to rapid starts regularly, as evident by her strike rate of 131.44.

While Mandhana was the only Indian, several members of the English side feature in the team with Nat Scriver being named captain.

The experienced England all-rounder produced many impactful performances throughout the year. Batting in the middle-order, Sciver scored a total of 153 runs, including one fifty, and she also picked up 10 wickets at an excellent average of 20.20.

Accompanying Mandhana at the top is England’s Tammy Beaumont. The 30-year-old’s reliable presence at the top of the order helped England off to steady starts regularly. She played nine matches and amassed 303 runs at an average of 33.66, including three fifties.

Danni Wyatt, wicketkeeper Amy Jones, and spinner Sophie Ecclestone are the other English players in the side.

Gaby Lewis of Ireland, the South African trio of Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnim Ismail and Marizanne Kapp and Zimbabwe’s Loryn Phiri make up the rest of the playing XI.

No Indian in the ICC Men’s T20 Team of the Year

There was no Indian representation in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2021, which featured three Pakistanis including skipper Babar Azam, who has been named captain.

Apart from Azam, opener Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Afridi, who had a sensational T20 World Cup were named in the squad.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh and pacer Josh Hazelwood, who played a vital role in winning Australia’s maiden T20 World Cup title, featured in the team while the trio of South Africans Aiden Markram, David Miller, and Tabraiz Shamsi also made it to the playing XI.

Flamboyant wicketkeeper batter Jos Buttler was the sole member of the England team on the ICC side.

Teams: Women: Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Danni Wyatt (England), Gaby Lewis (Ireland), Nat Sciver (c) (England), Amy Jones (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Loryn Phiri (Zimbabwe), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).

Men: Jos Buttler (England), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Mitchell Marsh (Australia), David Miller (South Africa), Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Wanindu Hasanranga (Sri Lanka), Mustafizur Rahaman (Bangladesh, Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Horatti formally joins BJP at CM’s residence

Gujarat Patidar leader Hardik Patel quits Congress

Pentagon says India may deploy Russian S-400 missile system by next month to defend itself from Pak, China

Punjab farmers sit on protest near Chandigarh-Mohali border, CM terms it ‘unwarranted’

Pilgrims on tour to Kollur temple land in Goa beach, Courtesy KSRTC driver

PM Modi greets Deve Gowda on birthday

Paralysed woman’s eyelid gnawed at by ‘rats’ in Kota hospital

Related Articles More

Mandhana, Harmanpreet, Deepti named captains of Women’s T20 Challenge teams

SRH keep slim playoff hopes alive with three-run win over MI

Grappler Satender Malik gets life ban for assaulting referee during CWG 2022 wrestling trials

Tilak Varma could be an all-format India batter: Sunil Gavaskar

Mixing up deliveries paid off against Punjab, says Shardul


Boulder Collapse near Karinjeshwara Temple

Raghunath Rao Malkapure appointed pro tem chairman of Legislative Council

BJP members road Blocked in Chikkamagalur

NEWS BULLETIN 16-05-2022

Bajarangadal, called protest at Dattapeeta

Latest Additions

The metaverse is coming but we still don’t trust AI

Horatti formally joins BJP at CM’s residence

Devotee donates gold band worth Rs 2 cr to Shirdi Saibaba temple

Gujarat Patidar leader Hardik Patel quits Congress

Pentagon says India may deploy Russian S-400 missile system by next month to defend itself from Pak, China

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.