Zoramthanga sworn in as Mizoram’s new Chief Minister

Team Udayavani, Dec 15, 2018, 4:40 PM IST

Aizawl: Mizo National Front (MNF) president Zoramthanga on Saturday was sworn in as Mizoram’s new chief minister, heading a 12-member ministry.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor K Rajasekharan during a ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Aizwal.

Zoramthanga took oath in Mizo language.

This was his third stint as chief minister of the north eastern state, having led the MNF government in Mizoram in 1998 and 2003.

Tawnluia will be the deputy chief minister.

Along with Zoramthanga, 11 others — five cabinet ministers and six ministers of state — were also sworn in. The five cabinet ministers are — Tawnluia, R Lalthangliana, Lalchamliana, Lalzirliana and Lalrinsanga.

The six ministers of state are — K Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte, Lalruatkima, Dr K Beichhua, T J Lalnuntluanga and Robert Romawia Ralte.

Chairman of Mizoram Kohhran Hruaitute Committee (MKHC), a conglomerate of 16 major churches in the state, Rev R Lalhmingthanga, read out from the Bible and offered prayers during the ceremony.

The MNF came to power in Mizoram capturing 26 of the 40 seats in the state assembly in the recently-held polls.

Disclaimer:The views expressed in comments section published on Udayavani.com are those of comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of Udayavani.com, its staff or The Manipal Group, or any entity associated with The Manipal Group. Udayavani.com reserves rights to remove a comment or all the comments any time.

To report any comment you can email us at udayavani.response@manipalgroup.info. We will review the request and delete the comments.

Related Articles

Latest Additions