Karnataka coalition ministry to begin work from Monday

Bengaluru: The JD-S-Congress coalition government in Karnataka would begin working from Monday, as a large portion of the cabinet ministers went to their constituencies for the week-end, said an authority on Saturday. 

"As government offices are shut on second Saturday and the staffs were additionally on leave at the state secretariat here, the 25 new cabinet ministers will work from Monday," the senior authority told the media.

Of the 25 ministers , 14 are from Congress and 9 from Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and one each from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Karnataka Pragnyavanta Janata Paksha (KPJP), which are partners of both the coalition accomplices. 

Despite the fact that all the cabinet ministers took oath on Wednesday, portfolios were designated on Friday night, the same number of them were competing for prominent posts between the coalition accomplices. 

"As portfolio distribution got postponed by 2 days and the ministers were uninformed of them till Friday night, they chose to take charge on Monday when offices re-open after the end of the week break," said the authority. 

According to the agreement between the coalition partners, the cabinet posts and portfolios are partaken in the proportion of 21:11, with the Congress getting 21, including the Deputy Chief Minister rank, as it has 78 legislators in the hung assembly, and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-) 11, including Chief Minister rank, as it has 36 legislators.

Back to Top