Udupi creates world record for largest gathering with same badge

Udupi: The temple city, Udupi, is now in the books of record for breaking the record of largest congregation of people wearing same badge to promote awareness about saving the nature. This feat was achieved by the Samvedana Foundations of city in a programme ‘Rana Manthraduchchara’, here on Saturday January 13 at Malpe beach.

It was indeed a proud moment when more than 5000 students including popular singers synchronized their voice to sing our national song ‘Vande Mataram’ at Malpe beach in the evening at 5 pm.

Nodoja G Shanakar, proprietor, G Shankar Family trust launched the event by releasing the balloons.

Addressing the gathering, district in-charge minister Pramod Madhwaraj said that it was a very special moment when all gathered to sing the national song together. It was the best way to celebrate 155th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda.

Former Udupi MLA Raghupati while addressing the gathering told about how Swami Vivekananda stated to worship Bharat Mata by keeping aside our Gods at home. He also announced that he would donate land in Aroor to grow forest.

Santhosh Agarwal, the representative of Golden Book of Records officially announced that Udupi won the Golden book world record. He then handed over the world record certificate to Samavedana foundation members. Golden book world record is a US based organization and has its branch in Delhi.

More than 25 degree college students participated in this special occasion to sing the national song by wearing white attire along with a badge. Popular background singers like Sangita Ravindranath, Malini Keshav Prasad, K Surekha Hegde, Shruti Tumkur, Yashwant, Jagadish Puttur, Rajesh Shanbagh, Ravindra Prabhu, Rupa Prakash, Prakash Mahadevan, Suhana Sayyad, Kishore Perla, Rameshchandra, Divya Ramachandra and Mallika Shetty also rendered their voice to sing the national song.

Additionally, a 1750 feet long and 9 feet wide Indian tri colour flag designed by Sahara Radiance Society based in Andhra Pradesh was flagged to begin the ceremony.

Among the guest list were district BJP president Mattaru Ratnakar Hegde, BJP State executive member Uday Kumar Shetty, CMC president Meenakshi Madhav Bannanje, Kaylady Suresh Nayak, Lakshmi Narayan Gupta, Chief Manager of Sahara Radiance, Dhavanam Amarnath, Kishore Kumar, DySP Kumaraswamy, Jayananad Hobali Dar, Hariayappa Kotian, Vasanth kanth and Lalaji R Mendon.

Back to Top