BJP leading in Belgaum, Basavakalyan; Congress in Maski

PTI, May 2, 2021, 11:47 AM IST

Bengaluru: The ruling BJP is leading in the bypolls to Belgaum Lok Sabha constituency and Basavakalya Assembly segment whereas Congress is leading in Maski.

Mangala Suresh Angadi, the BJP candidate, is leading against Congress candidate Satish Jarkiholi in the Belgaum constituency by a margin of around 12,000 votes.

In Basavakalya, BJP’s Sharanu Salagar is leading by about 4,400 votes against Mala B Narayan Rao, whereas Maski Congress candidate Basanagouda Turuvihal is ahead of BJP candidate Prathapagouda Patil by almost 8,000 votes.

The bypolls to Belgaum and Basavakalyan took place following the death of the sitting public representatives Suresh Angadi (BJP) and B Narayan Rao (Congress) due to COVID-19.

Maski seat fell vacant due to the disqualification of Congress MLA Prathapagouda Patil.

Patil was among the Congress MLAs who had resigned from the Assembly in 2019. He was disqualified and later joined the BJP to contest the bypoll.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Former law minister Shanti Bhushan dies aged 97

Economic Survey suggests govt to follow fiscal prudence as low interest rates benefit all

Bridge collapse in Gujarat: Oreva Group MD Jaysukh Patel surrenders before court

AAP setting agenda for Karnataka assembly polls, will fight all 224 seats: Atishi

Political parties seek early end to first half of Budget session: Joshi

Highlights of Economic Survey 2022-23 tabled in Parliament

Need to closely monitor CAD: Economic Survey

Related Articles More

Home Guard arrested for extorting money from woman in Bengaluru

Sandalwood trees stolen from Nagabana in Udupi: Accused arrested, property seized

Kodagu: Woman stranded in Kuwait reaches India safely

Puttur: Spat between Sanya Iyer and youth at Kambala event goes viral on social media

AAP setting agenda for Karnataka assembly polls, will fight all 224 seats: Atishi


voting boycott continued in mudigere assembly

Kollur Mookambika to get new Ratha after 400years

Villagers election boycott warning for road

Sand art | Malpe Beach Uthsava 2023 | Udupi – Udayavani

Various competitions, activities in Beach Utsava!

Latest Additions

Former law minister Shanti Bhushan dies aged 97

Wrestling row: Babita Phogat joins oversight committee

CAG India takes over chairmanship of audit institutions of G20 nations

Competition among governors as to who is more loyal to PM Modi: Mallikarjun Kharge

Adani Group acquires Haifa port for $1.2 bn, Israeli PM Netanyahu lauds deal as ‘enormous milestone’

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.