BJP names 11 more LS candidates; Mahtab from Cuttack, ex-ambassador Sandhu from Amritsar

PTI, Mar 30, 2024, 9:44 PM IST

New Delhi: The BJP on Saturday named its candidates for 11 more Lok Sabha constituencies, fielding a number of leaders who joined it from different parties recently such as Bhartruhari Mahtab, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Sushil Kumar Rinku and Preneet Kaur.

All these leaders have been fielded from the seats they represent in the outgoing Lok Sabha, while former Indian ambassador to the US Taranjit Singh Sandhu will be making his poll debut from Amritsar.

Hans Raj Hans, who had won from North West Delhi in 2019 on a BJP ticket, will contest from the Faridkot seat, which is reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs).

Veteran parliamentarian Mahtab, who quit the BJD recently, will contest from Cuttack, Bittu from Ludhiana, Kaur from Patiala, and Rinku from Jalandhar, a seat reserved for SCs.
Both Bittu, the grandson of former Punjab chief minister Beant Singh, and Kaur, the wife of former Punjab CM Amarinder Singh, were in the Congress before joining the BJP, while Rinku was in the Aam Aadmi Party.

The BJP on Sunday named two candidates from West Bengal, three from Odisha and six from Punjab.

It has so far announced its candidates for 411 seats.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Another attack in J&K: Terrorists, security forces locked in gunfight in Bandipora

Karnataka govt to implement new policy on police transfers?

Uncooked food, worn out seats: Air India business-class flyer recounts ‘nightmare’ flight to US

Water shortages feared as snow persistence in Hindu Kush Himalaya hits record low

T20 WC: ‘We made mistakes against India and USA’, rues Pakistan captain Babar

EC lacks courage to show counting day CCTV footage of Mumbai North West seat: Aaditya Thackeray

T20 WC: Pakistan register 3-wicket consolation win over Ireland

Related Articles More

Modi sworn in as PM for third consecutive term

Watch LIVE: Narendra Modi’s oath as Prime Minister for 3rd term

Foreign delegates, special invitees to attend PM-designate Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Terming Baramati loss ‘surprising,’ Ajit Pawar takes ‘full responsibility’ for NCP’s poll debacle

Election Commission lifts Model Code of Conduct after poll results


Road Mishap



Darshan Arrest | Renukaswamy Case

Udupi accident

Latest Additions

Chhattisgarh: 6 of 8 Naxalites killed in Narayanpur encounter carried Rs 48 lakh bounty

PM Modi extends greetings on Eid-ul-Adha

T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka save their best for last, beat Netherlands by 83 runs

Another attack in J&K: Terrorists, security forces locked in gunfight in Bandipora

Two held in Noida for selling juice ‘contaminated with spit’

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.