Udayavni Special

Delhi Daredevils is now Delhi Capitals

Team Udayavani, Dec 4, 2018, 7:15 PM IST

New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils was renamed as Delhi Capitals on Tuesday with a hope that it would bring a change in fortunes of the franchise after a poor track record over the past 11 IPL seasons.

Co-owners Parth Jindal, representing JSW Sport, and Kiran Kumar Grandhi of GMR, unveiled the new name of the team.

Jindal, whose JSW sport acquired a 50 percent stake in the Delhi franchise last year, ? also announced that Shreyas Iyer will continue to lead the team despite the presence of Shikhar Dhawan.

Dhawan returns to Delhi for the 2019 season after being traded by Sunrisers Hyderabad.? Australian great Ricky Ponting will continue to coach the team.

Jindal explained why his team zeroed in on the new name of the team.

“Delhi is the power center of the country, it is the capital, therefore the name Delhi Capitals,” he said.

The team has retained the old red and blue color in the ? new team logo.

“Our logo has been inspired by the design of Parliament House?. Tiger is our national animal and the three tigers idea is derived from the Ashok Chakra,” said Jindal.

Delhi have Rs 25 crore to spend at the IPL auction on December 18 and Jindal said the team has its plans in place.

“We obviously can’t share them with you. The core of the team has remained the same for the last couple of years. We need to invest more in the youth and going forward, that is something we will continue to focus on,” said Jindal.

“With Dhawan, we have got more solidity at the top. And the young guys who have been with us (Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant) are doing well for India. The captain and coach are the same, there is continuity there,” said the JSW Director, when asked about the team’s dismal run season after season.

Pravin Amre remains a part of the support staff and joining him next season will be Mohammad Kaif.

The team had finished at the bottom of the standings last year when Gautam Gambhir stepped down as captain midway into the IPL. Iyer was then given the leadership role.

A CEO to oversee the day-to-day running of the team will be named soon.

Under the current ownership, the chairmanship will change every two years between JSW and GMR.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Congress MLA Laxmi Hebbalkar and brother Channaraj Hattiholi tests positive for Covid-19

Karnataka government tightens rules for weddings, public gatherings; releases guidelines

Karnataka reports biggest single day spike of 14,859 COVID cases ,78 deaths

Stage set for bypolls to one LS seat, 2 assembly segments in Karnataka on Saturday

Bagalkot: Miscreants pelt stones at bus; driver killed

Top seer at Kumbh Mela in Haridwar dies of COVID-19

Senior Actor Dwarakish’s wife Ambuja no more

Related Articles More

IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings Skipper MS Dhoni may get banned after tonight’s game

Miller’s 63 and Morris’ unbeaten 36 power RR to sensational win

Royals beat Capitals by three wickets

BCCI Central Contracts: Virat, Rohit, Bumrah remain in top bracket; Pandya promoted to grade A

Experts of Health Science varsity to guide sportspersons in Karnataka: K Sudhakar


Success story of a retired teacher in Betel Leaf Farming | Betel Leaf Cultivation

Mind Boggling Card Trick by Kudroli Ganesh

Udayavani 16-April-2021 News Bulletin

Ship-boat collision: Search operation still on for missing fishermen

BSY calls for emergency meet on Covid-19 situation

Latest Additions

Congress MLA Laxmi Hebbalkar and brother Channaraj Hattiholi tests positive for Covid-19

Mamata’s purported conversation with TMC nominee after Sitalkuchi firing stirs row

Cash, liquor bribe to voters in 5 assembly polls at record high of Rs 1,000 crore: EC

Karnataka government tightens rules for weddings, public gatherings; releases guidelines

Union minister Prakash Javadekar tests positive for COVID-19

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.