LS polls: Jagadish Shettar among four candidates in BJP’s second list for Karnataka

PTI, Mar 25, 2024, 8:31 AM IST

Former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar and former Karnataka Assembly Speaker Vishveshwar Hegde Kageri are among the four candidates in the BJP’s second list for Karnataka on Sunday.

As expected, Shettar will contest from Belgaum (Belagavi) constituency, while Kageri will fight from Uttara Kannada district, replacing sitting MP Anantkumar Hegde.

According to the list released by the party in New Delhi, the other two candidates fielded by the party are former Health Minister Dr K Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura and Raja Amareshwara Naik from Raichur.

Shettar assumed different positions right from party state president, leader of the opposition, assembly speaker and chief minister of Karnataka.

A staunch RSS man, Shettar quit the BJP in 2023 when he was denied a ticket in the assembly election. In less than a year, he was back to his parent organisation.

Shettar wanted to contest the Lok Sabha election from Haveri constituency but the party decided to field him from Belagavi.

Kageri’s selection was also on the anvil as the party had made up its mind to find a suitable replacement to Anantkumar Hegde, who had caused much embarrassment to the party time and again.

Kageri, a six-time MLA, is well known for his balanced views, his strong footing in the RSS ideology and well-weighed words. He hails from Sirsi in Uttara Kannada district.

As Union Minister of State, Hedge, on December 26, 2017, said that the BJP came to power to change the Constitution triggering a nationwide uproar. Later, he had to apologise for his comment.

Recently, Hegde said the BJP’s call for winning more than 400 seats in the Lok Sabha was to bring amendments to the Constitution. This led to sharp reactions from various quarters.

A three-time MLA, Dr K Sudhakar is a well known name in Chikkaballapura. He lost the 2023 assembly election from Chikkaballapura assembly constituency.

He was previously with the Congress but resigned from the assembly in 2019, a year after winning the election.

A medical professional Sudhakar was among the 18 disqualified MLAs who later joined the BJP.

He successfully contested the 2019 bypoll and during COVID-19 pandemic he was given the health and medical education portfolio.

The BJP has so far announced candidates for 24 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The general elections in Karnataka will be held in two phases on April 26 and May 7 for 28 constituencies.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Kuwait blaze: 3 Indians, 4 Egyptians detained in connection with massive fire that killed 50 people, mostly Indians

Sharp rise in heatstroke cases, casualties in hospitals as heat wave batters Delhi

Flesh in ice cream: Mumbai cops trace factory worker who suffered finger injury during work

Union minister Savitri Thakur fails to write ‘Beti Padhao’ slogan correctly in Hindi; video goes viral

T20 World Cup: Hosts West Indies primed for Super 8 clash against defending champions England

Renukaswamy Murder Case: Darshan confessed to have given Rs 30 lakh to accused to dispose of body, say police

Dead frog ‘found’ in wafer packet, probe ordered

Related Articles More

Modi sworn in as PM for third consecutive term

Watch LIVE: Narendra Modi’s oath as Prime Minister for 3rd term

Foreign delegates, special invitees to attend PM-designate Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Terming Baramati loss ‘surprising,’ Ajit Pawar takes ‘full responsibility’ for NCP’s poll debacle

Election Commission lifts Model Code of Conduct after poll results




Mental Illness | Causes | Symptoms and Treatment

Minister Thimmapura statement

Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri

Latest Additions

Kuwait blaze: 3 Indians, 4 Egyptians detained in connection with massive fire that killed 50 people, mostly Indians

Nine Indian ports ranked among top 100 in Container Port Performance Index 2023

Chikkamagaluru: 3 tourists feared drowned as coracle capsizes in Bhadra River backwaters

Udupi: Wild elephants leave trail of destruction

Kharge writes to LS Speaker, RS Chairman; seeks relocation of Gandhi, Ambedkar statues back

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.