Nepal polls: PM Deuba wins from Dadeldhura; Nepali Congress ahead in election tally

PTI, Nov 23, 2022, 3:02 PM IST

Image credit: IANS / File

Kathmandu: Nepal Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected on Wednesday with a huge margin of votes for the House of Representatives for the seventh consecutive time, with his ruling Nepali Congress party leading in the election tally by winning 13 seats so far.

Elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and seven provincial assemblies were held on Sunday. The counting of votes started on Monday.

Deuba secured 25,534 votes against his nearest rival Sagar Dhakal, an independent candidate in the Dadeldhura constituency in far west Nepal. Dhakal received just 1,302 votes. Deuba has never lost any parliamentary election in the five decades of his political career.

The 77-year-old Nepali Congress president Deuba is currently holding the post of Prime Minister for the fifth term.

Dhakal is a young engineer, who had a verbal squabble with Deuba during a public debate at a BBC’s Sajha Sawal programme five years ago, after which he decided to challenge Deuba saying that now youths should get a chance in politics and senior people like Deuba should retire.

The ruling Nepali Congress has so far bagged 13 seats in the House of Representatives (HoR) while it is leading in 54 other constituencies.

Its ally parties — CPN-Maoist and CPN-Unified Socialist, Lokatantraik Samajwadi Party — are leading in 17, 7 and 3 seats respectively.

The CPN-UML led by former prime minister K P Oli has so far bagged three seats and is leading in 45 constituencies. Its ally parties — the Rastriya Prajatantra Partyj and Janata Samajwadi Party — are leading in 5 seats each.

The newly formed Rastriya Swotantra Party has won three seats in the Kathmandu district. Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Nagarik Unmukti Party have bagged one seat each.

The CPN-UML has received the highest number of votes under the proportional electoral system with the party bagging 2,07,299 votes followed by the Nepali Congress with 1,83,352 votes.

Rastriya Swotantra Party is in the third position with 95,598 votes while CPN-Maoist has received 86,433 votes. Similarly, the CPN Unified Socialist got 10,919 votes.

Out of 275 Members of Parliament, 165 will be elected through direct voting, while the remaining 110 will be elected through a proportional electoral system. Similarly, out of a total of 550 members of the seven provincial assemblies, 330 will be elected directly and 220 will be elected through the proportional method.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Maha-K’taka border row: Pawar says situation worrisome, time to take a stand

No link between elections in one state with another: Siddaramaiah on Guj exit polls

Eros Media World, Arabia Pictures announce collaboration to produce three films

CM Bommai announces Group A jobs to Olympic, Paralympic athletes

YouTuber arrested for threatening to implicate bizman in rape case, extorting over Rs 80 lakh

Mangaluru: Child thwarts brazen kidnapping attempt; Caught on CCTV

Independents get feelers from parties as exit polls indicate close race in Himachal

Related Articles More

Pakistan’s Election Commission moves to oust Imran Khan as chairman of PTI party

Man who shot Lady Gaga’s dog walker gets 21 years in prison

34 killed as mudslide swallows bus on highway in Colombia

Confusion over Iran’s religious police as women drop hijab

Oxford Word of the Year is self-indulgent ‘goblin mode’


Belagavi: Outrage outpours as stone pelted, black ink thrown at Maha registered vehicles

Rishab shetty family visit Anegudde temple

Do you know what makes a beagle dog special?

How to become flipper

Bannur Sheep Breed Information | Uv

Latest Additions

Maha-K’taka border row: Pawar says situation worrisome, time to take a stand

Markets settle lower; Sensex falls for third day

No link between elections in one state with another: Siddaramaiah on Guj exit polls

Completely unconstitutional government run in Maharashtra: Uddhav faction; SC to hear pleas on Jan 13

Yogi Adityanath announces cultural centre, memorial dedicated to Ambedkar

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.