Polling begins for 7 LS constituencies in Bengal

PTI, May 20, 2024, 8:15 AM IST

Polling for the fifth phase of Lok Sabha polls commenced across seven parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal amid tight security on Monday, an official said. Voting commenced in Bangaon (SC), Barrackpore, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, and Arambag (SC) Lok Sabha constituencies at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm.

A total of 1,25,23,702 voters, comprising 63,51,320 men, 61,72,034 women, and 348 belonging to the third gender, are eligible to exercise their franchise across 13,481 polling stations.

The Election Commission has designated over 57 per cent of the polling stations as sensitive and deployed over 60,000 personnel of central forces, in addition to around 30,000 policemen.

The number of security forces deployed for this phase surpasses that of any of the four earlier phases in the state. A total of 88 candidates are contesting in the fifth phase, with the highest number of 15 candidates in Bongaon, where Union Minister Shantanu Thakur is contesting against TMC’s Biswajit Das.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Seat-sharing talks for Maharashtra polls yet to begin in MVA; all are equal stakeholders: Sanjay Raut

Noida: Crackdown on public drinking, 497 booked for nuisance

Amid paper leak controversy, Centre brings into force stringent law to curb irregularities in exam

Hoax bomb threat to Air Arabia flight in Kerala’s Calicut airport

Govt trying to do ‘damage control’: Congress on implementation of law to curb exam irregularities

‘If justice doesn’t prevail..’: Ramya’s tweet on cases against rich and powerful

Gangolli: Police nabs thief who broke into cooperative society within 10 minutes

Related Articles More

Modi sworn in as PM for third consecutive term

Watch LIVE: Narendra Modi’s oath as Prime Minister for 3rd term

Foreign delegates, special invitees to attend PM-designate Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Terming Baramati loss ‘surprising,’ Ajit Pawar takes ‘full responsibility’ for NCP’s poll debacle

Election Commission lifts Model Code of Conduct after poll results


mundrapady temple puttur

Dr RajKumar

Taranga Magazine

Gururaj Gantihole

Nalanda University

Latest Additions

Chikkamagaluru: Police enforce strict measures to protect popular tourist spots

Rahul Gandhi interacts with Rajkot fire victims’ kin virtually, says Cong is with them

Seat-sharing talks for Maharashtra polls yet to begin in MVA; all are equal stakeholders: Sanjay Raut

Assam: Kamakhya temple’s doors closed as annual Ambubachi Mela begins

People bearing double brunt of unemployment price rise: Jairam Ramesh

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.