‘Star Wars’ producer Kathleen Kennedy to receive BAFTA Fellowship

Team Udayavani, Dec 7, 2019, 10:25 AM IST

London:  Kathleen Kennedy, Hollywood producer and head of the Lucasfilm, will receive the prestigious BAFTA Fellowship, the highest accolade by the British Academy Film Awards.

Given annually, the Fellowship recognises an individual’s outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, games or television.

Kennedy, who is gearing up for the release of “Star Wars: Rise of Skywalker”, said

British filmmakers Tom Stoppard, David Lean, Christopher Nolan, Stephen Daldry and Peter Morgan continue to inspire her.

“The recent Star Wars movies all shot on sound stages and locations across the UK are just the latest opportunities that I’ve had the privilege to work with British crews and filmmakers, which began in 1980 with Raiders of the Lost Ark and continued with Temple of Doom, Empire of the Sun, Young Sherlock Holmes, War Horse, The Adventures of Tintin, and others.

“I am deeply honoured to receive the Fellowship from BAFTA, and am incredibly thankful to have worked with so many talented members of our extended family in the British filmmaking community,” Kennedy said in a statement.

Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Executive of BAFTA, said Kennedy’s career has been exceptional as a filmmaker.

“She is a trailblazer who has opened the door for many people to join the industry, and the number of iconic cinematic moments she has helped bring to the big screen has enriched the industry and enthralled the cinema loving public,” Berry said.

In a career spanning 40 years, Kennedy has worked with some of the biggest directors include Spielberg, David Fincher, Scorsese, Clint Eastwood, Robert Zemeckis, JJ Abrams, Julian Schnabel, Marjane Satrapi, M Night Shyamalan, Frank Oz, Peter Bogdanovich and Richard Donner.

Her major productions include “E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial”, “Back to the Future”, “Jurassic Park”, “Schindler’s List”, “Saving Private Ryan”, “The Sixth Sense”, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”, “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”, “Star Wars: The Last Jedi and “Solo: A Star Wars Story”.

The EE British Academy Film Awards will take place on February 2, 2020, at the Royal Albert Hall with Graham Norton as a host.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

CM Bommai sets February end deadline for ‘Grama One’ implementation across Karnataka

Skeleton of elephant found in noon meal centre

SBI suspends circular on recruitment of pregnant women

Grenade attack on security personnel in Srinagar

‘Election king’ again files papers for poll

Union minister V K Singh calls NYT ‘Supari Media’ over its report on Pegasus

SBI suspends circular on recruitment of pregnant women

Related Articles More

Jason Momoa in talks to star in ‘Fast and Furious 10’

‘Ant-Man’ star Evangeline Lilly opposes US vaccine mandates: I’m pro-choice

Tried not to think of Dr Homi Bhabha’s legacy, greatness while playing the role: Jim Sarbh

Prime Video announces psychological thriller series ‘Bestseller’

Kanye West announces ‘Donda 2’, album to release in Feb 2022


NEWS BULLETIN 29-01-2022

Cobra – Dog Fight at Sakaleshpura

Why Agriculture Needs Young People

Elephant shot dead near Hunsur

Mangaluru: Youth loses life while trying to save drowning girlfriend

Latest Additions

HC questions police probe, acquits Maha man handed life sentence by lower court for murder

552 liquor shops opened in Delhi till January 28 under new excise policy

Next part of PKL scheduled revealed

CM Bommai sets February end deadline for ‘Grama One’ implementation across Karnataka

CM Bommai sets February end deadline for ‘Grama One’ implementation across Karnataka

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.