Veteran politicians lose as youngsters win big in Nepal polls

PTI, Nov 27, 2022, 8:59 PM IST

Image Credit: IANS

Kathmandu: Several senior political leaders, including ministers and 60 incumbent MPs, have been defeated while many youngsters have registered victories in Nepal’s parliamentary polls.

As the results of the parliamentary elections under direct voting come closer to an end, Nepal’s top political parties have intensified efforts for the formation of a new government.

Elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and seven provincial assemblies were held on November. The counting of votes started on Monday.

Two senior leaders of Madhes-based parties who lost the election are president of the Janata Samanwadi Party Upendra Yadav and Rajendra Mahato, the senior leader of the Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, the sixth largest political party in Nepal.

Senior leaders of the second largest political party, the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist–Leninist) (CPN-UML), who lost the election include senior vice president of the party Ishwor Pokharel, vice president Surendra Pandey, general secretary Shankar Pokharel and deputy general secretary Pradip Gyawali.

Other top leaders who were defeated are general secretary of CPN-Maoist Centre Dev Gurung, deputy general secretary and energy minister Pampha Bhushal, and deputy general secretary Girirajmani Pokharel.

Home Minister and Nepali Congress leader Balkrishna Khand and Tourism and Civil Aviation Minister of the incumbent government Jeevan Ram Shrestha also lost the election.

Former prime minister and senior leader of CPN-Unified Socialist Jhalanath Khanal and former foreign affairs minister and senior leader of the Nepali Congress Sujata Koirala also lost the election.

Many young people and new faces have also been elected to the House of Representatives.

The Rastriya Swotantra Party which was formed just six months ago by former TV journalist Ravi Lamichhane succeeded in grabbing seven parliamentary seats under direct election and secured more than one million votes under proportionate method.

The ruling five-party alliance has won 85 seats, against 55 seats won by the alliance led by CPN-UML.

In the 275-member House of Representatives, 165 will be elected through direct voting, while the remaining 110 will be elected through a proportional electoral system. A party or a coalition needs 138 seats for a clear majority.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Accused conducted recce around Salman Khan’s house three times before firing

JD(S) seeks EC action over alleged security lapse at meet attended by Deve Gowda

Koppal: Sanganna Karadi resigns from BJP

Am an independent, no more with BJP to face disciplinary action: rebel leader Eshwarappa

Rahul Gandhi to address 2 public meetings in Karnataka tomorrow

BJP urges EC to stop Cong’s ‘Guarantee Cards’ campaign

TMC protects infiltrators, opposes CAA: PM Modi

Related Articles More

Israel’s Defense Innovations: From Iron Dome to Arrow 3

Heavy rains set off flash floods killing 33 people in Afghanistan

Indian student shot dead in his car in Canada’s Vancouver

World cannot afford another war: UN chief Antonio Guterres on Iran’s attack on Israel

Booms and sirens in Israel after Iran launches over 200 missiles and drones in unprecedented attack


Grafting Jack Anil

Heat Illness

Dwarakish death at 81

H. D. Deve Gowda

Aura Cake shop in udupi

Latest Additions

Kerala man surprises parents with UPSC rank

All set for ‘Surya tilak’ of Ram Lalla in Ayodhya on Ram Navami

LS polls Phase-2: ADR analysis shows 21% of candidates have criminal cases against them

Accused conducted recce around Salman Khan’s house three times before firing

JD(S) seeks EC action over alleged security lapse at meet attended by Deve Gowda

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.