“Kantu” wins first prize at State Level Kannada Drama Competition

Team Udayavani, Jan 18, 2021, 11:25 AM IST

Udupi: In the 41st State Level Kannada Drama Competition 2020, organized by Rangabhumi, the Bengaluru-based Samasthi troupe has won the first prize for their drama “Kantu.”

The troupe will receive the Late Puthu Vaikuntha Shet Memorial cash prize of Rs 35,000 and the Dr TMA Pai Paryaya plaque.

This is Samasthi troupe’s third consecutive win in the competition.

The second prize in the competition has been awarded to Dharwad Samudaya Tanda’s “Taledanda” drama.

The troupe will receive the Late Malpe Madhvaraj Memorial cash prize of Rs 25,000 and the Dr RP Koppikar Memorial award.

Udupi’s Sumanasa Kodavuru troupe’s “Neralilada Manushyaru” drama has been awarded the third prize.

The troupe will receive a cash prize of Rs 15,000 from Sita Vasudev Rao in memory of Late P Vasudev Rao.

Other prize winners include:

Best direction: First – Manjunatha L Badigera (“Kantu”); Second – Mahadeva Hadapada (“Taledanda”); Third – J Joseph (“Neralilada Manushyaru”)

Best Actor: First – Eeranna Ainapur (“Taledanda”); Second: Parameshwar K (“Kantu”); Third – Hari Samushti (“Kantu”)

Best Actress: First – Soumyashree Marnad (“Kantu”), Second – Radhika Diwakar (“Neralilada Manushyaru”), Third – Kiran (“Kantu”)

Best Music: First – “Mante Swami Katha Prasanga;” Second – “Kantu;” Third – “Taledanda”

Best decor and props: First – “Kantu;” Second – “Taledanda;” Third – “Neralilada Manushyaru”

Best costumes: First – “Kantu;” Second – “Taledanda;” Third – “Mante Swami Katha Prasanga”

Best lighting: First – “Kantu;” Second – “Neralilada Manushyaru;” Third – “Taledanda”

Best comic performance: Harish Rudrayya (“Kantu”)

Commendation prizes: Shivananda GK (“Kantu”), Naveen Netaji (“Mante Swami Katha Prasanga”), Divakar Kateelu (“Neralilada Manushyaru”).

The jury for the competition comprised of Professor Vasanth Bannadi, Chandrahasa Ullal, Belagodu Ramesh Bhat, Pratibha MV and Ganesh Mandarthi.

The main ceremony of the competition will be held on February 13 and the awards distribution will be on February 14. The events will be held at Muddana Mantapa of MGM College, Udupi.

First prize winner “Kantu” drama will be performed during the event.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Kipchoge clocks 2:01:09 for world record in Berlin Marathon

Four held for planning to kill rival gang members in Delhi

Rahul’s Karnataka visit will benefit our party: CM Bommai

Cricket betting: Crime Branch arrests one from Bengaluru

Hubbali: FIR against 11 over forceful circumcision of Hindu youth

Rahane sets example, asks Jaiswal to leave field for indiscipline

6 IAF officers charged with murder after trainee cadet found hanging in Bengaluru

Related Articles More

Shivamogga: Two wild elephants electrocuted to death; Farmer taken into custody

Belagavi: Four, including wife & daughter of ASI killed in Cement lorry-car collision

Rahul’s Karnataka visit will benefit our party: CM Bommai

Ambulance service hit in Karnataka; CM directs officials to resolve issue

President Murmu on three-day visit to Karnataka from Monday, first after assuming office


Creative PU College Moodabidri

Lighiting at Uchila Mahalakshmi Temple

Health Minister K Sudhakar Statement about paycm

How to grow Avocado

Dasara Celebration in Uchila Mahalakshmi Temple

Latest Additions

Mangaluru: Smuggled gold worth Rs 15 lakh confiscated from passenger at MIA

Two Health ministry staff among 5 held for duping people of Rs 15 crore

CUET-PG result to be declared on Monday at 4 pm: UGC Chairman Jagadesh Kumar

Maha: 12 infants rescued after fire in hospital ICU in Amravati

PM Modi wishes his Israeli counterpart on Jewish New Year

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.