Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland CM

Team Udayavani, Mar 8, 2018, 2:22 PM IST

Kohima: NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio was on Thursday sworn in as Nagaland chief minister by Governor P B Acharya at a public function here. This is Rio’s fourth time as the chief minister of the Northeastern state.

Rio is heading the ‘People’s Democratic Alliance’ government in partnership with the BJP in the state. BJP’s Y Patton was administered the oath as the deputy chief minister by the governor.

Ten other ministers were also administered the oath of office. The 10 included five from the BJP, three from the Nationalist Democratic Progresstive Party (NDPP), an independent and a JD(U) MLA.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the party general secretary Ram Madhav were present at the swearing-in ceremony. The outgoing chief minister T R Zeliang was also present at the function.

The chief ministers of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya also attended Rio’s swearing-in. Rio had staked claim to form the government on March 4 with the support of 32 legislators in the 60-member House – 18 MLAs of NDPP, 12 of the BJP, one of the JD(U) and an independent MLA.

Disclaimer:The views expressed in comments section published on are those of comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of, its staff or The Manipal Group, or any entity associated with The Manipal Group. reserves rights to remove a comment or all the comments any time.

To report any comment you can email us at We will review the request and delete the comments.

Related Articles

Latest Additions