K’taka by-polls: 6.06 per cent voter turn out in first 2 hours

PTI, Dec 5, 2019, 10:44 AM IST

Bengaluru: An estimated 6.06 per cent of voting took placeduring the first two hours since polling began in 15 assembly constituencies going bypolls in Karnataka on Thursday.

According to voter turnout figures available till 9:26 am, highest turnout of 9.01 per centwas recorded in Hoskote, while the lowest was in Shivajinagar with 3.04 per cent.

BJP candidates from K R PuramByrathi Basavaraj, Gopalaiah of Mahalakshmi Layout, S T Somashekar of Yeshwanthpura were among the early voters in their pooling booths.

BJP rebel and independent candidate in Hoskote- Shahrath Bachegowad also cast his vote early, accompanied by his family members.

Turnout in constituencies going for bypolls till 9:26 am: Athani- 8.33 per cent, Kagwad- 6.94, Gokak- 6.11, Yellapur- 7.54, Hirekerue- 5.59, Ranebennur- 6.22, Vijayanagara- 6.5, Chikkaballapur- 6.91, K R Puram- 4.04, Yeshwanthpura- 4.19, Mahalakshi layout- 8.21, K R Pete- 6.2, and Hunsur- 6.18.

People were seen standing in queuesto cast their votes at various polling booths in different parts of the state, but the number was not big.

The by-elections are being held to fill the vacancies caused by the disqualification of 17 rebel Congress and JD(S) MLAs, whose rebellion led to the collapse of the H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government in July and paved the way for the BJP to come to power.

The BJP needs to win at least six of the 15 seats to remain in majority in the 225-member assembly (including the Speaker, who has a casting vote), which would still have two vacant seats — Maski and R R Nagar.

A total of 37,77,970 electors are eligible to cast their votes at 4,185 polling stations in 15 constituencies going for polls.

There are also 4,711 service voters.

Among the eligible electors 19,25,529 are men, 18,52,027 women and 414 others.

A total of 79,714 are young voters.

A total number of 165 candidates are in the fray for bypolls from all the 15 constituencies, out of them 156 are men and 9 are women.

Among the major political parties in the state, BJP and Congress have 15 candidates each in the fray, while number of JD(S) candidates is 12, and remaining are from smaller parties and independents.

Out of 15 assembly segments going to by-polls, 12 were held by Congress and three by JD(S).

BJP has fielded 13 of the 16 disqualified legislators who had joined the party, as its candidates from their respective constituencies from where they had won in the 2018 assembly elections on Congress and JD(S) tickets.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

ED arrests man with ‘Chinese links’ in mobile apps fraud case

Vijaypura: Newborn baby found abandoned near canal

Pregnant forest guard beaten up by couple in Maha’s Satara, duo held; minister promises strict action

Mandya: Out on bail Hindu seer Rishikumar Swami demands closure of mosque; sparks row

Both lives and livelihood will be considered as K’taka govt to decide on COVID curbs tomorrow: Min R Ashoka

Delhi riots: Convict Dinesh Yadav gets 5 years in jail for setting house on fire

In Gorakhpur, Bhim army chief Chandrashekhar Azad to take on Yogi Adityanath

Related Articles More

SBI Manipal directed to pay Rs 10,000 compenstion to customer for mental harassment

Karnataka govt launches AVGC Center of Excellence in Bengaluru

Vijaypura: Newborn baby found abandoned near canal

Mandya: Out on bail Hindu seer Rishikumar Swami demands closure of mosque; sparks row

Bagalkot: Two held after huge cache of explosives unearthed at farmhouse


video of professor principal brawl in madhya pradesh college

NEWS BULLETIN 20-01-2022


Robbery at Chincholi : Video viral

Man Desighned Tallest Ridable Bicycle

Latest Additions

ED arrests man with ‘Chinese links’ in mobile apps fraud case

Hospitalisations in Delhi during third Covid wave significantly lower than second: Govt

SC grants interim protection to Mamata’s poll agent in murder case

PM, Jugnauth jointly inaugurate, launch India-assisted projects in Mauritius

Ensure local body election in Ahmednagar conducted in “right earnest”: SC to Maha election panel

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.