Udayavni Special

K’taka bypolls: Candidates on temple run

Team Udayavani, Nov 3, 2020, 11:13 AM IST

Tumakuru: Voting is underway for the bypolls to Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Sira assembly seats in Bengaluru and Tumakuru amid the COVID-19 pandemic and candidates who have contested the by- elections are on temple run on the day of voting.

According to information received from the office of the Chief Electoral Officer, polling started at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm in the two constituencies with a voting population of 6,78,012, including 3,26,114 women.

The counting of votes will take place on November 10.

The death of Sira MLA B Satyanarayana, who was from the JD(S), and resignation of RR Nagar Congress MLA Munirathna from the assembly last year led to the bypolls.

There are 1,008 polling stations, comprising 678 in RR Nagar and 330 in Sira, Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar said in a statement.

According to sources, in view of the pandemic, thermal screening will be done and hand sanitisers have been available at the polling stations. Security has been beefed up around the polling stations.

The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has made separate arrangements for coronavirus-infected people to cast their votes in RR Nagar.

There are a total 31 candidates in the fray in the bypolls — 15 in Sira and 16 in RR Nagar, including those from the Congress, BJP and the JD(S).

In RR Nagar, the BJP has fielded former Congress MLA Munirathna as its candidate whereas the Congress has given ticket to H Kusuma, wife of former IAS officer late D K Ravi in the seat traditionally held by the party. The JD(S) has fielded V Krishnamurthy.

The RR Nagar constituency has become a prestigious issue for both the Congress and the BJP. The saffron party had earlier held this constituency which Munirathna had wrested as the Congress MLA.

This constituency is part of the Bengaluru Rural Lok Sabha constituency which is represented by D K Suresh, who is the brother of Congress state chief D K Shivakumar.

In Sira, the BJP, Congress and JD(S) have fielded radiologist Dr Rakesh Gowda, former minister T B Jayachandra and former (JD-S) MLA B Satyanarayana”s wife Ammajamma respectively.

In the 224-seat assembly, BJP has 116 MLAs minus the speaker, Congress 67 and JD(S) 33, BSP one and there are two independents. There is also a nominated member.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Ex-Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal returns Padma award over farm laws

Kerala CM calls for high-level meeting to tackle rain fury

Criminal networks could try to sell fake COVID vaccines physically and on internet, warns Interpol

Board exams: CISCE writes to all CMs to allow partial reopening of schools from Jan for class 10, 12

Rajinikanth to launch party in Jan, outfit to fight 2021 polls

Amarinder Singh meets Amit Shah; appeals to Centre, farmers to resolve impasse soon

Many Indians keen on going to UK to get Covid vaccine: Travel agents

Related Articles More

Bajrang Dal worker attacked in Shivamogga; tense situation in town

NIA special court gives varying jail terms to 3 FICN racketeers in Bengaluru

Activists demand govt to restart Ksheera Bhagya scheme in Bengaluru

Pro-terror graffiti case culprits will soon be behind the bars: Basavaraj Bommai

M’luru boat tragedy: Srinivas Poojary hands over compensation to kin of deceased


Pro-terror graffiti case culprits will be arrested soon: Basavaraj Bommai

Meal of Bakasur : Hotel Fish Campus Udupi | Udayavani

Things You Should Know When Starting A Business | Profitable Business Ideas After Lockdown

Mangalore Boat tragedy: We’re with families of deceased, says Kota after announcing Rs 6 lakh compensation

Mangaluru boat tragedy: Body of another fisherman recovered

Latest Additions

MIT researchers create system that designs custom robots based on terrains

Bajrang Dal worker attacked in Shivamogga; tense situation in town

Ho, ho – Whoa! Virus keeping most Santas at a distance

Flipkart partially spins off PhonePe in $700 million fundraising round

SC refuses to entertain IMA’s contempt plea over non-payment of salaries to doctors

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.