BJP drops 33 sitting MPs in first list of candidates for LS Polls

PTI, Mar 3, 2024, 8:37 AM IST

Credit: PTI / File

New Delhi: The BJP replaced as many as 33 sitting MPs with new faces as it released its first list with names of 195 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls on Saturday.

In the list, the BJP announced its candidates for 11 Lok Sabha seats in Assam. Of them, six candidates are sitting MPs while the other five are new faces.

The party has fielded Parimal Suklabaidhya from Silchar Lok Sabha constituency, won by Rajdeep Roy in the 2019 general elections.

From the Autonomous District (ST) seat, currently held by BBJP MP Horen Singh Bey, party nominee Amar Singh Tisso will contest.

Bijuli Kalita Medhi will contest from Gauhati Lok Sabha seat which is held by Queen Oja. Ranjit Dutta will contest from Tezpur Lok Sabh seat which was won by Pallab Lochan Das in 2019.

The BJP has named Union Minister Sarbanand Sonowal as its candidate from Dibrugarh constituency, dropping sitting MP Rameswar Teli.

In the list of the BJP candidates for 11 seats in Chhattisgarh, four faces are new.

From Janjgir Champa (SC) constituency, party nominee Kamlesh Jangde will contest the election, instead of sitting MP Guharam Ajgalley. From Raipur, senior BJP leader Brijmohan Agrawal will enter the fray, not Sunil Kumar Soni who won the seat in 2019.

From the state’s Mahasamund seat, BJP nominee Roop Kumari Choudhary will contest the Lok Sabha poll, instead of sitting MP Chunni Lal Sahu. Sitting MP Mohan Mandavi was replaced by BJP nominee Bhojraj Nag on Kanker (ST) seat.

The BJP named five candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, four of them replacement of sitting MPs.

The party has named Praveen Khandelwal as its candidate from Chandani Chowk Lok Sabha Sabha seat, dropping two-term MP and former Union minister Harsh Vardhan.

For the West Delhi seat, BJP replaced two-term MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma with Kamaljeet Sehrawat. It named Bansuri Swaraj, daughter of late BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, as its candidate from New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, currently held by Union minister Meenakshi Lekhi.

From South Delhi, BJP named Ramvir Singh Bidhuri as its candidate, dropping Ramesh Bidhuri.

The BJP named its candidates for 15 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, dropping five sitting MPs.

From Banaskantha Lok Sabha seat, party nominee Rekhaben Hiteshbhai Choudhary will contest, instead of sitting MP Prabhatbhai Savabhai Patel. On Ahmedabad West (SC) seat, Dineshbhai Kidarbhai Makwana replaced three-term MP Kirit Solanki.

For Rajkot Lok Sabha seat, the BJP named Union minister Parshottam Rupala as its candidate, dropping sitting MP Mohanbhai Kalyanji Kundariya.

The party named Union Minister Mansukh Mandaviya for the Porbandar seat, currently held by party MP Rameshbhai Lavjibhai Dhaduk.

From Panchmahal seat in Gujarat, BJP nominee Rajpalsinh Mahendrasinh Jadhav will join the fray, instead of sitting MP Ratansinh Magansinh Rathod.

In Jharkhand, BJP fielded Manish Jaiswal from Hazaribagh seat, which is currently held by Jayant Sinha, son of former Union minister Yashwant Sinha.

On Lohardaga (ST) seat, three-time MP Sudarshan Bhagat was replaced by Samir Oraon.

In its list of candidates for Madhya Pradesh, the BJP replaced seven sitting MPs with new faces.

The party named Bharat Singh Kushwaha for the Gwalior Lok Sabha seat, instead of its sitting MP Vivek Narayan Shejwalker.

It dropped sitting MP from Guna, Krishnapal Singh Yadav, to field Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia from the seat.

BJP nominee Lata Wankhede will join the fray from Sagar Lok Sabha seat, which is currently held by Rajbahadur Singh. Virendra Khatik will contest from Tikamgarh (SC) seat.

The BJP has dropped Vidisha MP Ramakant Bhargava to name former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan as its candidate from the seat.

Alok Sharma will be its candidate from the Bhopal seat, currently held by Sadhvi Pragya Singh.

From Ratlam (ST) seat, currently held by BJP MP Guman Singh Damor, party nominee Anita Nagar Singh chauhan will contest.

The BJP announced its candidates for 15 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan, replacing five sitting MPs with new faces who will contest from Churu, Bharatpur, Jalore, Udaipur, and Banswara contingency.

The party named former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb as its candidate from Tripura West seat, which is currently held by party MP Pratima Bhoumik.

The BJP also dropped its Alipurduar MP John Barla in West Bengal to field Manoj Tigga from the constituency, reserved for Scheduled Tribe.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.

Top News

Yashpal Suvarna backs Modi’s development agenda for victory in Coastal Karnataka

PM Modi praises BJP candidate Brijesh Chowta’s military background and commitment to development

From arid to green: What world can glean from Vijayapura’s learnings this Earth Day

NIA raids on in Srinagar in terror-related case

More than 2,000 criminal cases against MPs, MLAs decided in 2023: SC told

Farmer calls for election boycott over gun deposit order

IPL 2024: It’s grey area, says RCB’s Reece Topley on Virat Kohli’s controversial dismissal

Related Articles More

PM Modi has resorted to hate speech, lies: Congress on his ‘redistribution of wealth’ remarks

PM Modi praises BJP candidate Brijesh Chowta’s military background and commitment to development

Siddaramaiah hits back at PM Modi over ‘tech city into tanker city’ remark

Leaders of INDIA bloc are either in jail or on bail: J P Nadda

PM Modi does not deserve to be PM, says Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah


Grafting Jack Anil

Heat Illness

Dwarakish death at 81

H. D. Deve Gowda

Aura Cake shop in udupi

Latest Additions

Kejriwal’s Insulin Requirement Misrepresented by AAP: BJP

PM Modi has resorted to hate speech, lies: Congress on his ‘redistribution of wealth’ remarks

Why are foreigners choosing Greater Noida for setting up Meth labs?

Hubballi Murder Sparks State-wide Protests by BJP

PM Modi’s ‘redistribution of wealth’ remarks raise concerns, says Sanjay Raut

Thanks for visiting Udayavani

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.
To continue reading, please turn it off or whitelist Udayavani.